to shame

the creaking of the door
sneaking back in at four
tearing us in two
never reaching out for you
it’s putting this love to shame

will we ache from old age together
or say goodbye to forever
will the yearning in the night
end what started out as right
we’re putting this love to shame

I see you toss and turn in your sleep
so gently you start to weep
and put this love away
before the dawn of the new day
you’re putting me to shame

alone in the night
I know it’s not right
but you’re left waiting
heartbroken and anticipating
I’m putting you to shame

I want to wrap myself in your geography
and make you forget the insecurity
but the night has changed to day
and hope just slips away
this love has been put to shame

One thought on “to shame

  1. It is tough being on the bad end of the cheating. Wait, which one is the bad end? The feelings here are so raw. reaching, yearning, putting. I feel as though you showed me what this person is going through.

Comments are closed.