The Higher the Climb the Harder the Fall

Drawing a breath

To fill my lungs

Climbing to death

Upon slippery rungs

Wanting to find

What’s in between

All the space and time

Of the moments we’ve seen

When I touched your face

As you were holding me near

I swear I could trace

I knew I could hear

Your climb to me

And how I needed you so

Truly plain to see

I couldn’t let you go

But I had to learn

To climb higher all alone

I felt the burn

I tried to make it on my own

This ladder is so tall

New rungs added each year

I’m afraid to fall

And that is my fear

It feels like it’s too late

I’m stuck on this rung

Our time was great

But it’s ending has begun

I want to find out

What’s in between

These rungs and the clouds

All the moments we’ve seen

Maybe I’m dreaming

Upon this ladder so tall

The moonlight is beaming

Come catch my fall

8 thoughts on “The Higher the Climb the Harder the Fall

  1. “…Climbing to death…”

    I like the twist in this phrase. One normally climbs to success/God/all things good…but to climb to death > that alludes to the imminent fall !

    Well done Eva. I learnt something from you today. Thanks.

    Luv and peace 🙂

  2. Dear Eva – please allow me a response.

    Many years ago, I listened to my 4 year old daughter > she gave me a business idea that reaped much profit. (Can you believe that – and I was already a so-called successful businessman) I might blog about it one day…my daughter’s idea.

    (Stupid is a man who thinks his cup overflows before his time and ignores sweet water from brimming springs – Eric)

    You are lovely and don’t ever shortchange yourself in any department.

    Luv and peace, Eric

  3. Eric,
    Is than an Ericism? I love that one “Stupid is a man who thinks his cup overflows before his time and ignores sweet water from brimming springs”
    And thank you for the kind words. I will try not to shortchange myself so often 🙂

Comments are closed.