Dusky Moon Farewell

I’m in a medley of mixed emotions
Surrounded by a perfect sky
And we’re set apart by oceans
Heartache’s been my lullaby
I’m lost in a time of finding
Like the sunset on this day
Beautiful as it is blinding
The night calls for a guided way
But the stream to your heart
Isn’t glowing
Like our bond that broke apart
From the knowing
Of the hands we were dealt
Instead of holding
That instinct to retreat we felt
Our love was folding
I imagine the light that was you
Darkened, as an abandoned home
Yet, I’ll stick to the memories like glue
No matter how far I roam
47 thoughts on “Dusky Moon Farewell

  1. Separated by sky and ocean – but connected by memories. Lovely theme, evocative images – beautiful words, Eva dearest.

    Luv and blessings from a friend,
    Eric

  2. This came to mind as I read this, Patty Griffin is labeled a country singer, but she is from Maine, and sings folk music … Long Ride Home is one of her best ….

  3. I’ve actually been there but you encapsulate much better that I could. Lovely rhythm and voice with evocative sentiment. Excellent work.

  4. Very heartfelt and relatable, I loved the heartache lullaby part, because it pulls an image and a question of how sometimes even the pain we feel is sweet enough to bring us more impossible dreams, instead of just hurt us.

  5. Nice, thought you might like this, it is the second poem I memorized as a child.

    I SHALL NOT CARE
    by: Sara Teasdale (1884-1933)
    When I am dead and over me bright April
    Shakes out her rain-drenched hair,
    Tho’ you should lean above me broken-hearted,
    I shall not care.

    I shall have peace, as leafy trees are peaceful
    When rain bends down the bough,
    And I shall be more silent and cold-hearted
    Than you are now.

Comments are closed.