Apraxia

I’d say you thought you could steal
All the joy a mother could feel
I’d say you juggled the shattered shards
Of family and our broken hearts
I’d say you made me worry
Through thoughts so teary-eyed and blurry
No, I won’t
Because you don’t
Welcome strength or have a voice
I’d say you didn’t give me a choice
Trapped inside
You chaperoned the ride
Through my fear
That I’d never hear
My little boy say
He wanted to play
I laugh at how you wanted me weak
By locking up his ability to speak
Yet, love being the tie that binds
Mended the shards and freed us from your confines

Sent from my iPhone

22 thoughts on “Apraxia

  1. Thank you for continuing to write your poetry, it is stunning and thought provoking to say the least. My soon to be ex-wife was a speech therapist in the public schools for many years and helped countless numbers of kids like your son even without the support of the parents. Sadly, it was a thankless job for her at times but she never quit trying to help the kids. Too bad she felt that she had to retire. I’ll share your story with her so she knows there are parents out there who appreciate her efforts. Thanks for sharing…

  2. Unconditional love, hard work, and determination beat adversity always. I love this piece. Keep writing and thank you for following my blog.

    JMC

  3. Yes, it almost consumed me. Took a lot to get through and still does, but it doesn’t change my love for my son and if anything it strengthened our bond. Thanks for the comment.

  4. I can’t even begin to imagine, but delighted to hear of your bond. They say we are not given a cross heavier than we are able to carry. Thanks again for sharing.

Comments are closed.