A Road for Redemption

They came and stamped lines into the newly paved road
The temporary powdered sugar spray just wouldn’t do
They caught my eye on their path passed our former abode
In the middle of the street where I had cried out for the fleeing you
The old pavement is gone, worn down, and tarred black
Symbolic of our love story and with that, I was fine
The fresh lines, your ghost in the sun, are what reeled me back
But the house, your heart, and pure sanity are no longer mine
I drive the length of the road, and it leads me out of town
I follow a path of painful memories, overflowing the eternity pool of my eyes
Yet, I am renewed with the moonroof open and the windows down
Because the tears fade in the rearview, and the tires crush your lies

11 thoughts on “A Road for Redemption

Comments are closed.