For a Former Lover on Quinquagesima Night

In the spirit of another broken dream
A frosted glass and an amber gleam
Keeping the light of love for others revealed
Or maybe it serves as a shield
In seeking recognition of good deeds
The thorns He wore, yet my heart bleeds
I gave up tempting the whirling winds of change
Before Lenten time casts sin in my range
Just another face at the bar
The pain I feel as my strength you mar
May you feel your heart skip a beat
On your way back to your seat
I look to the near future and let go of my pride
Feeling depleted as you’re not at my side
So soon in sequence, this lustful way
Ides of March, St. Patrick’s Day
First, all of the hoopla on Fat Tuesday to be had
May faith’s light return to me, lest I be bad

10 thoughts on “For a Former Lover on Quinquagesima Night

  1. Testing times will lead to strength (we Irish get a special dispensation for the 17th – I’ll see if I can swing one for ya)

Comments are closed.