How to Heal My Broken Heart

I tried to kiss a sleepy memory away
With someone who reminds me of you
I couldn’t let that empty aching feeling stay
When I can imagine us beginning anew

The ghost of our love in the windswept moonlight
Swirls around in the cold night air
A whisper says to me that this vision is alright
A dusting of snow weaved a glittery patina of a pair

It’s just a touch after the smile of the afterglow
The moon fights its way passed the clouds
The wind is twisting through the falling snow
This night we’re part of separate crowds

I gaze out between the dusty blinds
With a warm heart and a cold beer at the bar
Time travels on as the clock unwinds
But in my mind I don’t go very far

I can see the cold wind blowing
In the light of this whitewashed night
Just a kiss on my lips while it’s snowing
To turn all that’s wrong into right

How to heal my broken heart
Is a secret that’s between you and me
If we piece back together what fell apart
My snow angel, it’ll make me happy

If you don’t want to heal my broken heart
I can’t say that I’d blame you
My lips locked with someone who smiled at the start
Of this night when my dreams came true

10 thoughts on “How to Heal My Broken Heart

  1. Things always go better with a beer, or at least that is the theory, although beer and winter are always a heady combination asking for trouble.

  2. I suppose. Which I believe was my point here. An avid people watcher at the bar, the poem was inspired by events that unfolded around me there. Yet, it is otherwise fictitious..

Comments are closed.