Indulgent Insolence

The heavy air of pain’s prison bestowed upon me
The world is so loud today
Clapping at my failure to break free
Chasing smiles that never stay
Egregious abuse of trust pools near the street’s curbs
All in a quick barrage during spring’s waking
I’m not one to plant seeds of herbs
To make life more palatable for the taking
Cursed the one who set my heart to broken
The wine of my blood can wash me anew
Denying not the words that were spoken
With spiteful aridity, to myself I am true

16 thoughts on “Indulgent Insolence

  1. Planting things is good my friend…except land mines of course. I know what you mean about the world clapping, it does seem like it, possibly a bit too much but that is one of the many reasons that I love a good book. Ear plugs in my friend and show the world that you can do it all and with style.

  2. Your words always feel so heavy with soaked emotions. Hope you are well and Arthur lets you be with no harm. 🙂

  3. This was something I had written right after spring’s arrival. I go through ups and downs and hope to always have it all level out. The very sound of the world around me sometimes it’s too much. Even the sound of rain. I do own some earplugs, usually use them for swimming. I ought to tune things out that have a negative effect on me, be it rain or traffic, or the idiot who cheated on me 🙂

  4. Another emotion filled post.

    I read your comments, Eva and can see that your poems tend to be therapeutic. If it works for you – great.

    Wish you peace, my friend,
    Eric

  5. Blinkers and ear plugs can sometimes be a good thing, as long as you have your local, national and international readers to keep you smiling.

  6. Eva, how are you doing? Thinking of you this 4th of July. Do enjoy the day and with the kids. Wishing you all well my dear friend. 🙂

    Your poem pulls at my heartstrings.

Comments are closed.