Amaranthine

http://bookmust.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/doorning-thoughts/

It was this post on Ste J’s blog that led me to write this poem. I had no idea that the image he painted in my mind would become exactly this poem. Thank you for sparking my imagination, Ste.

Amaranthine

He spoke of a time that escaped my grasp
A smokey-toned voice with a slight rasp
He was persuasive in a passive way
I was inebriated from lust and Chardonnay
Then, through my mind’s flight, I walked the path to his home
Methodically he plotted through my roam
I felt him caress my skin as I was near
The pounding of my heart was for love, not fear
The scent of fresh flowers was in the air
I fashioned a wreath to wear in my hair
His voice brought me to the dark wooden door
Embellished with what appeared to be the famous Fleur
Centuries old and probably had passed
Since the arrival of the visitor last
Cobwebs abound as I opened the crypt
I found my amour through the time that had slipped
When he kissed my lips, it was pleasure and pain
Just a puppet in his world, forever I’ll remain

10 thoughts on “Amaranthine

  1. “When he kissed my lips, it was pleasure and pain
    Just a puppet in his world, forever I’ll remain”
    Best ending ever! You illustrated so well how time passes by and, also, how some persons will be forever in our memory, even though we were just a toy for them. At least that’s my interpretation of this poem :)) I understand perfectly why Ste J’s post inspired you, it really makes you open the door to a new world. By the way, your writing is absolutely beautiful! 😀

  2. This sets the benchmark where multidimensional meets multilikable. And thank you for the introduction to the Muse.

Comments are closed.