Losing My Sea Legs

Rushing to the finish line
The merciless last call
And out the door forevermore

Another insurmountable haul
There is a slow and deliberate wave

That I do

I’m reticent, even with the breaths I draw

Minus a few
I’m trying to gauge this divide

Inhaling the fumes

What lies between us

Two hearts once in bloom
The waiting and wade as the tide rolls in

Drowning out the distance

Cold seeks warm

In the path of least resistance 
I wave goodbye to all those I left behind

Or is it hello?

I see the stars all new and sparkly 

But they’re from a long, long time ago
New and sparkly like what I can be to you

The tide rolls in as I wave

I hear my name called from beyond my stare

But it’s unlikely I’ll be brave
My heart is weak

My head is pounding

I’ll always be there

In the dark surroundings

