Last Prayer 

Crouching beside my bed
in case time will vaporize me before the light of day
I am just me
While here, in this anopheles pose I am alive
Here I am innocent
barren and bereft
of that which I found within the ebb and flow of your tenderness
I need
I hunger
Electricity rushes through my fingertips
delivering precursory messages from the depths of my soul
alerting me that I will have you again
I must
I am not woeful in my yearning
as I disguise myself within these misaligned shadows
that quietly creep across me
and hush behind the umbra
that lies beyond the afterglow
The hollow late night air scorches me with its bold confessions
As I consider my own salvation is lost deep within your arms
a last prayer drifts from my parted lips
For once I was lost, and now I am found.

Leave a Reply

